Face for radio  

If you know me, you’ve probably heard that I got invited into Radio 1 to do something utterly insane. To create a show about a robot apocalypse.

Today, that stupid dream came true.

After the madness of #hacksoton 3, I jumped on a (heavily delayed, awful-but-lets-not-get-into-it) train to stay with my friend Kelly in London.

Her sofa enabled me to get some sleep ahead of my 9:30 slot in the BBC New Broadcasting House, so this morning I headed out in search of Radio 1 HQ.

Thanks to Google Maps, and feeling all nervous as hell to be honest, I found the building…

And made my way inside…

Aled (Off Chris Moyles and the Surgery) found me and took me to the 8th Floor, home of Radio 1 and 1Xtra. Gemma Cairney was doing her show, I tried not to stare at her through the glass.

Here’s what it looks like in the waiting area:

Beyond this point, things got a little crazy. I didn’t have time to be messing about with vines any more as Aled showed me the controls and I went over the script (That’s right, there was actually a script).

Before I knew it, we were off. It was kind of terrifying but fun at the same time, I’m really glad Aled was there to help, because there was a lot of sliding faders and buttons to press.

Before I knew it, we were done. Multiple daft punk songs and silly robot voices later - It was all in the can. I have it right here, on a USB stick.

One way or another, I will be sharing this with you all. In the mean time, for the next seven days, you can hear a teensy preview in Matt Edmondson’s show from today: http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b03vpcks
(Jump to 1hr 45 minutes, or 105 minutes in)




 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

Hallow’s Eve Triple Threat

Hello folks, In between trying to write interesting (and hopefully enjoyable) books for you to read, I sometimes find myself writing up things which, for whatever reason, don’t make it into a book. Usually it’s a concept that I find... Continue →