I’m not okay  

A long time ago, I was diagnosed with depression.

Some of you will be reading that and thinking, “I know”. Others might be reading it and thinking WTF? Really?

“I have depression”

Me, right now

I’ve told a whole bunch of people over the years, but for the most part it has been secret. The reasons for this are numerous… It felt simpler to keep quiet about it, for one. Social stigma is still a thing, although I’m encouraged every year by how much better it’s getting. Mainly I just didn’t want people to worry about me.

I’m still the me you always knew. You don’t have to wrap me in bubble wrap or ask me if I’m okay every time you see me. But I’ve made a decision to be more open and honest about it. And it starts right here, with this blog. And something else I want to share with you.

I’ve started a podcast. It’s called Burdens, and the idea is that every week, I’ll be sharing a short episode which discusses some of my experience but also is intended to help others. As well as giving me pills to turn me into a happy little robot, the NHS has also kindly provided me with enough therapy over the years that I feel compelled to pass some of it on, in case it could help people. Maybe it will even help you.

Episode One is available on Soundcloud right now, and should appear on iTunes any minute now. It’s too late for me to back down. So let’s just enjoy this ride together.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Face for radio

If you know me, you’ve probably heard that I got invited into Radio 1 to do something utterly insane. To create a show about a robot apocalypse. Today, that stupid dream came true. After the madness of #hacksoton 3, I jumped on a... Continue →